What is CIE board?

By Madhurie Singh, May 31, 2016

Cambridge International Examinations (CIE)  is the world’s largest provider of international education programmes and qualifications for 5 to 19 year olds.

5-11 yrs take Cambridge Primary. (Class 1 – 5)
11-14 yrs take Cambridge Secondary 1. (Class 6 – 8)
14-16 yrs take Cambridge Secondary 2 also called as IGCSE and O level. (Class 9 – 10) 
16-18 yrs take Advanced Supplementary and Advanced Level. (Class 11 – 12)

What is IGCSE board?

Information and Communications Technology (ICT) is now part of the educational experience worldwide and regarded as a new ‘literacy’ alongside reading, writing and numeracy.

Cambridge ICT Starters introduces learners, typically aged 5 to 14 years, to the key ICT applications they need to achieve computer literacy and to understand the impact of technology on our daily lives.

It can be taught and assessed in English or Spanish.

Cambridge Primary, typically for learners aged 5 to 11 years, gives schools a world-class curriculum to develop learner skills and understanding in English, mathematics and science. It enables teachers to assess children’s learning as they progress with two optional assessments: Cambridge Primary Progression Tests and Cambridge Primary Checkpoint. They also provide ‘English as a second language’ option.

No part of the programme is compulsory and schools have freedom to choose the parts that best suit their situation. This means they can use Cambridge Primary while following their school or national curriculum, or offer the entire programme.

Cambridge Secondary 1 for learners aged 11-14 years, develops skills and understanding in English, mathematics and science for the first three years of secondary education. It combines a world-class curriculum, high-quality support for teachers and integrated assessment.

Cambridge IGCSE for students aged 14-16 years,  is the world’s most popular international qualification for 14 to 16 year olds. It is recognised by leading universities and employers worldwide, and is an international passport to progression and success. Developed over 25 years ago, it is tried, tested and trusted by schools worldwide.

Cambridge O Level for students aged 14-16 years,  is an internationally recognised qualification equivalent to Cambridge IGCSE and the UK GCSE. It provides learners with excellent preparation for Cambridge Advanced as well as other progression routes.

Cambridge Advanced for students aged 16 – 18 years,  is typically for learners aged 16 to 19 years who need advanced study to prepare for university and higher education. It offers learners two routes: What are  AS and A Level?

Login is required